Parenting · Raising kids · Raising Readers · summertime · Uncategorized

Back to School Time–Tips to Keep Reading Fun!

Around the beginning of August, my mother used to always warn us that she was going to start to get us ready for school, which chiefly meant going to bed earlier and waking up earlier, which I hated. I mean, why did we need the practice? Why did I have to waste quality evening TV time to go to bed or wake up out of my good morning sleep just to sit and stare for a good hour before I really wake up? I despised it.  Now fast forward 30 years, guess who’s doing the same thing with her own children?  Oops…

So, its about time for us to wind up those lax summer routines and get back into the routines for school. (And I’m not going to lie, waking up early is hurting me probably more than it is them.)  At any rate, as you also get back into those routines, I thought I’d share a resource that I thought had some great ideas and reminders when #RaisingReaders.

Click for 10 Tips to Make Reading Fun for Your Child.

This short article from Reader’s Digest gives some great tips that can help you make those bedtime reads enjoyable, even if your child is sulking because it’s earlier than its been for the past 2 months.  Good luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

