Parenting · Raising kids · Raising Readers · Uncategorized

Hurry, its time to vote!

This week is the last week for your child to vote in the Children’s Choice Book Awards! According to their website, “The Children’s & Teen Choice Book Awards are the only national book awards voted on only by kids and teens. Launched in 2008 by the Children’s Book Council and Every Child a Reader, the awards provide young readers with an opportunity to voice their opinions about the books being written for them.”

Now I’ll be honest, I think about this about this award in regards to students at school, but I’ve never thought about voting for this award in regards to my own child.  However, one morning this week, my daughter and I were listening to the “Absolutely Mindy” show on Kids Place Live and they did a short book talk about one of the award’s nominees, Noodlehead Nightmares. When I mentioned to my daughter that I was ordering this book for students at school because of the nomination, she got real excited and a lightbulb went off in my head. Why wasn’t I setting my own kids up for this fun? Why haven’t we looked for these books at the bookstore or the library? Shoot, why am I not talking about this with other people who are #RaisingReaders on my blog? Why am I slacking on this? So, I told her I would show her what all the nominations were and we would go from there.

We haven’t read most of the books, and voting ends this week. However, our plan is to look at the books we have read and decide which one we want to vote for. I would suggest that you go to this website with your child to see which of the books you and your children have read (they have categories up to 6th grade), and then depending on how many you guys have read, decide which one you want to win and go vote! Voting is really easy, and as a plus, they will feel really excited about having their voice heard.

KIDS-AWARD-SEAL-2017

 

Leave a Reply

